Plans go awry

Some evenings don’t go according to plan.

My husband is away, so I thought I would make myself an easy dinner, then spend some time relaxing and stitching, and go to bed early (I was up at 4:45 this morning).

But what happened is that I started dinner, and then started a load of laundry, and then the phone rang, and then I went to check email, and back to the stove, and in between, I made a batch of cookies, and put them on the stovetop while waiting for the oven to heat up.

And then, 10 minutes later, while checking my work email, I smelled something burning, and went into the kitchen, and discovered that the I had put the baking pan with the cookies on a hot burner by mistake.  So I grabbed the Pyrex baking dish, and moved it off the burner, and took a step back, and the dish exploded.

This didn’t just break.  It exploded.  It was one of the few times I’ve been truly grateful that I wear glasses.

There were shards of glass everywhere.  And even better, I had made a batch of linzer bars, which include raspberry jam, so there was raspberry jam mixed with the glass.  On the floor, on the counters, on the stove.  It looked like a crime scene.  Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Ontario division.

So I spent the evening cleaning – swept, vacuumed, cleaned all the counters, took apart the stove (glass got in the burners, and under the burners).  Tomorrow I’ll wash the floor.  Really, I’m too tired and too pissed off to stitch.

Lesson learned – and I’m sure there’s a more eloquent way of stating this – too much multitasking ruins the cookies.

Leave a Reply

