I’m back!

Hi – I’m back from a week in Havana. It was an absolutely fascinating week.

Most people know that Cuba has many old cars from the 50’s. That was my main image of the city before going there.  But I didn’t expect to be intrigued with the architecture – everything from Spanish colonial to Art Deco to Soviet apartment blocks (how completely awful!). The infrastructure – buildings, transportation, roads, everything – is crumbling and in desperate need of repair, and the economy is absurd (I’m trying to think of a better word, but at the moment I can’t), but the people were very friendly.

Here are just a couple of pictures.

View of “El Morro” – the lighthouse and fort at the entrance to Havana harbor.

Art deco building

Older house

Man repairing sewing machine (looks to be a sewing machine of my grandmother’s vintage)

Leave a Reply

