“Take it Further” starts

Sharon B. has posted the first Take it Further challenge. The concept for January is

… a feeling we have all had, the feeling of admiration for another. Ask yourself who do you look up to and admire? Why? What is it you admire about them?

As an alternate concept, she also posted some colors for the month. I’ll get to those later.

With a great sense of panic, I’m going to start.  Why panic?  I’ve wandered through the websites of others who are participating in TIF, and the numbers of very talented and imaginative people is a bit intimidating.

Who do I admire? The first person that came to mind is my grandmother.

Among many other things, she first taught me to embroider. (She also tried to teach me to knit, with very limited success, and to crochet, with absolutely no success.) In addition to the standard stitches – cross stitch and so forth – she also taught me how to do cutwork. Here’s a bit from a tablecloth that she did:

Although she died almost 20 years ago, I’m still using up her stash.

My first thought is how do I incorporate references to her into a needlework piece?

2 responses to ““Take it Further” starts

  1. Wow, I would love to see the whole table-cloth! As is was your grandmother who taught you to embroider, then any embroidery on the piece is going to be a reference to your grandmother, especiallly if it includes cutwork! Did she have any favourite colours that you could incorporate?

    And I know exactly what you mean in your first post, about trying to get to grips with how these blogs work! It’s a whole new world, isn’t it.
    Jocelyn

  2. I think you have a lovely idea in using your grandmother as the person that you admire.

    As to how you can reference her in a stitched piece, you said that you are still using items that she left behind in her stash. Perhaps you could make something only using items that she left, or incorporating some of the items that she left that way she will be imprinted all over the piece….

Leave a Reply

